← All devices

L5 · Humanoid

Tesla Optimus

Used inside Tesla factories so far; no external sales.

Tesla

Prototype

No external customers as of mid-2026; only executive price targets, no list price

PriceNot disclosed
SubscriptionNot disclosed
Brand🇺🇸 USA
Utility score28
Demo ≠ Reality

Marketing videos do not necessarily represent autonomous real-world performance. Check the sales status and sources below. Current stage: Limited deployment · Prototype

What it can do

VisionListeningVoiceTranslationMemoryAgentManipulation(partial)MobilityTouch

Capability levels are AMS classifications (full · partial · none; faded items are none or not disclosed).

How much of a human does this replace?

  • Eyes — seeingreplaces
  • Arms — handling objectspartly
  • Legs — moving aroundreplaces
  • 2 armsphysical

Hardware

CameraNot disclosed
MicrophoneNot disclosed
SpeakerNot disclosed
DisplayNot disclosed
LiDARNot disclosed
Depth sensorNot disclosed
Touch sensorNot disclosed
RuntimeNot disclosed
WeightNot disclosed
DimensionsNot disclosed
PayloadNot disclosed
Walking speedNot disclosed
Total DOFNot disclosed

Humanoid specifications

HeightNot disclosed
WeightNot disclosed
Total DOFNot disclosed
Hand DOFNot disclosed
Arm DOFNot disclosed
PayloadNot disclosed
Walking speedNot disclosed
Running speedNot disclosed
RuntimeNot disclosed
Replaceable batteryNot disclosed
LiDARNot disclosed
Tactile sensorsNot disclosed
TeleoperationNot disclosed
Autonomous operationNot disclosed
Factory deploymentYes
Commercial availabilityPrototype

AI capabilities

AI modelNot disclosed
AI providerTesla (in-house)
Cloud dependencyNot disclosed
How it actsNot disclosed

Country / supply chain

Brand🇺🇸 USA
HQ🇺🇸 USA
Made inNot disclosed
AI provider🇺🇸 USA
Cloud / dataNot disclosed

Geopolitical dependency

Medium

  • Sold or supported only in some regions
  • 2 input(s) not disclosed

Privacy / lock-in

On-device AINot disclosed
Cloud requiredNot disclosed
Account requiredNot disclosed
Subscription requiredNot disclosed
OfflineNot disclosed
Open APINot disclosed
SDKNot disclosed
Data exportNot disclosed
Closed ecosystemNot disclosed

Developer access

SDKNot disclosed
ROSNot disclosed
APINot disclosed
AccessNot disclosed

Price / performance

AI capability3 / 20
Hands-free usability12 / 15
Physical capability12 / 20
Autonomy0 / 15
Battery / runtime0 / 10
Cost efficiency0 / 10
Availability1 / 5
Privacy / lock-in0 / 5
Utility score28 / 100

Price / perf.: — (no USD list price)

A reference value computed from public data with the AMS rubric. Undisclosed items score 0, so judge by the individual figures.

4 of 10 key fields disclosed

Same category

Robot payback calculator

Robot cost per operating hour$7.5
Human annual labour cost$40,000
Annual saving$35,000
Payback period1.4 years

A simple model. It leaves out supervision staff, downtime, speed differences, insurance, power and installation. If the robot has no public price, enter your own quote.

Sources

Checked 2026-10-02 · Values a source does not disclose are left as “Not disclosed”, never estimated.